News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Psychiatry Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Psychiatry Answers List

Forum Name: Psychiatric Topics

Question: I cannot maintain concentration when I study.

MCovington - Fri Jan 13, 2006 12:14 pm

I cannot maintain concentration when I study. My concentration breaks within seconds of beginning. I don't understand why. I can read a book for hours, no problems. It's just studying. I am currently studying for my CPA Exam and ever if I remove all distractions and all there is is me, a pencil, a book, and paper, my mind will wander within seconds. I have tried telling myself to focus, foods, or water and I still cannot concentrate. Do you know what can help me and why I am having this problem? I was able to studying in college for short times, never had any problems this large before.
 dlugose - Mon Jan 16, 2006 5:38 pm

I take it from your saying "able to studying in college for short times" that you have had SOME problem concentrating for some time. It does not sound so far like a strictly medical problem. If you have any other new illness or new medications, what are they?

How is studying for the CPA different than studying in college? Is this a review where you are basicly already familiar with the material? Have you found the most interesting possible study materials?

One possibility is that you have been coping for some time with attention deficit disorder. Have you considered this? Why or why not do you think it likely you have it? Even if you do not have it you may find books and articles (such as online) designed to help ADHD people improve their study habits. If your attention span is less than average, making use of tips that others in similar situations would be wise. I myself have ADHD.