News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Psychiatry Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Psychiatry Answers List

Forum Name: Psychiatric Topics

Question: How do I listen to me and convince myself I'm ok?

rina - Sat Feb 03, 2007 6:40 pm

I am a student but have had to defer my studies this year because I was feeling very depressed. I did have some support from mental health services, but found them unhelpful. I now feel that I am a bad person because it felt as though they were not taking me seriously! Sometimes I feel really desperate and feel like I should punish myself, all because I think the people I have seen about my depression don't care! I don't know how to forget about those who were unhelpful and concentrate on good things about myself.

I have thought of ways to challenge negative thoughts I have about myself, such as saying to my critical self, “you’re in the back seat! Preferably with a dog guard between us, strapped into a baby seat were you are unable to cause any harm!”
“I’m in the driving seat, not you! I am in charge of our life! I'm driving this person to success and happiness! Not hopelessness and self destruction!” “You do realize if you do want to kill me you will kill yourself as well, not just me.”

Suicidal thoughts, feelings of being unreal etc are really horrible. My positive side is saying to the part of me in pain “why stand for all of this from Miss self critical?” “Leave her?” You won’t stay in an abusive relationship, or you would move heaven and earth to get a friend out of an abusive relationship.” “Thinking and convincing yourself to agree with negative thoughts is abusing you.” “Why do you allow it to carry on?” “Walk away” Basically love yourself and don’t take any crap from Miss self critical!”