News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Psychiatry Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Psychiatry Answers List

Forum Name: Psychiatric Topics

Question: Is it Bipolar Disorder?

teardrops - Tue May 01, 2007 2:22 pm

Hello. I am a 21 year old female. I had previously been diagnosed with depression by my doctor and I was put on meds and referred to a psychiatrist. However, as a college student, I am still on my parents health insurance and the refused to let me seek help from a psychiatrist and told me it was all in my head. The medicine I was on only heightened my suicidal thoughts and I stopped taking it. Recently, I was talking to a friend of mine and she told me that I remind her a lot of a friend of her's who is bipolar. I go a few days to a week or so where I am very depressed and sad and even consider suicide. Then I will go a few days where I can't believe I ever thought of suicide and I am happy and carefree. There are times when I blow up at everyone, including my family, friends and boyfriend. I have lost a lot of friends and I have destroyed my relationship with my boyfriend and I am sure he has had about enough. During my low periods, I have greatly considered suicide and have done things like cut myself. Each time it gets worse, and as much as I hate doing it and feeling that way, I just can't help it. Currently, i am on no medications. How should I bring this up with my doctor?
 teardrops - Tue May 01, 2007 2:36 pm