News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Psychiatry Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Psychiatry Answers List

Forum Name: Psychiatric Topics

Question: Abnormal social life - general anxiety

heartnsoul - Sun Oct 21, 2007 11:16 am

I am a 21 yr old female who has had social problems my entire life. When I was a child I was painfully shy and even feared speaking to family members. If called upon in class i would become rigid and be unable to speak from fear. I had few friends and was constantly afarid I wasn't good enough for them. Over time I have learned to deal with some of my fears so that I can live a somewhat normal like. I work in retail and attend night school but find that my phobia gets in the way of enjoying my work and keeps me from succeeding. My biggest problem is that I have almost no social interactions anymore. I only have a few casual aquantances at work. No friends, no boyfriend and only my mother to talk to, and although she tries it doesn't seem like she understands me. I feel like I have never been emotionally, spiritally, or physsiaclly close to anybody. This make me very depressed and I am often extremely lonly. I cry alot when I think about how different I am from others my age. I get frustrated because I know I have alot to offer people but I hold myself back. I feel like it is too late to learn how to socialize and worry that I will be alone forever. I don't think I am capable of having an intimate or sexual relationship with anybody and I don't try because I'm afrid that I am too inexperienced.I have been on a couple dates but have never even kissed a man.I am an attractive and pleasant person so that people often try and reach out to me, but I reject them because of my fears.I avoid intimate relationships at all c