News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Psychiatry Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Psychiatry Answers List

Forum Name: Psychiatric Topics

Question: Depression and Bulimia

neighbours - Thu Mar 06, 2008 5:48 am

I have recently found myself very depressed after recently being dumped by my long term boyfriend. I am hoping it will of course pass, however what concerns me the most is how obsessed with my weight I have come, (possibly as a result). My appetite is somewhat depressed anyways, but when I do eat I feel very guilty and have found myself vomiting after meals. Can someone give me some advise?
 acidicLOVE - Sun Mar 09, 2008 11:04 am

I'm not a doctor, but I have been bulimic for 3 years and anorexic for 4 years. Don't feel guilty about eating hunny, as hard as it might be. Breakups happen all around all of us, and it sucks, but it's nothing about you. You don't need to feel guilty about the extra weight. Hell, in some countries the bigger you are, the more beautiful you are. Embrace your curves. My motto is no one can make me feel bad about myself without my permission. Eating disorders are deadly, I've seen what it can do to you... hell, I've BEEN what it could do to you. I don't want anybody to ever go through what I put myself through. In the end it really isn't worth it, just talk to your friends, talk to your family, talk to your doctor, you can talk to me if you need a long term insiders opinion of it.
 Dr. K. Eisele - Sun Mar 09, 2008 11:05 pm

User avatar Dear Neighbours: