News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Psychiatry Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Psychiatry Answers List

Forum Name: Psychiatric Topics

Question: 24 yr old male who is very very very shy

Zack - Tue Mar 11, 2008 9:38 pm

Hi i'm a 24 yr old male who is very very very shy. I am not healthy or rather not in good shape since i haven't gone out in years. I don't like reciting in front of class when i was young, don't like people looking at me or look at what i'm doing. I don't even want most people to hear my voice so I never use the phone. I don't even want people to watch me play video games cause maybe they'll laugh at me that I'm not good at it. I'm easily embarrassed.

Now the problem is because of this shyness i'm scared of going out. This started a year into college when I had to commute instead of having a school bus which I had in highschool. I'm scared of having to poop. For example what if on the way to college I get a really really bad diarrhea or something and I can't hold it. I don't wanna poop inside the bus you know. I don't even want people to know i'm pooping in their house or at school. Because of this i havent gone out for years. Tried to go to a doctor but because of shyness I wasnt able to talk with him well.