News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Psychiatry Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Psychiatry Answers List

Forum Name: Psychiatric Topics

Question: Anxiety and xanax

frecklesag - Sat Mar 15, 2008 5:31 pm

I have GAD with dysthymia, so I have been told. I am a student and under a significant amount of stress. (34/yo female). I have taken a long list of SSRI and a SNRI. These don't seem to work well for me. I also have a hx of panic attacks beginning at age 19 about every 4 years the panic attack returns. Anyhow, my family doc in December gave me a script for xanax 0.25-0.75TID or PRN. I have taken this prn. Before started taking it I was waking up drenched in sweat after dreaming of having a panic attack. It was very strange to say the least. I take the xanax before an exam and when I go to bed. I have noticed if I don't take any during the day or at night I wake up about 1 am with the really strange feeling that travels from the back of my head down my arms and I start sweating. I get up and take 0.25 and then it goes after awhile. I also had this same experience when I was taking paxil. With the paxil, I quit taking it and transferred to lexapro and then weened myself off the lexapro and was fine. I guess my question is the amount of xanax I am taking shouldn't cause any habituation should it? Could this be the cause of the weird head pain or am I having anxiety problems in my sleep? What would be the next step for me to take if this continues? Wean off or start taking lower doses of the xanax until I am off?
Thank you
Best regards
Freckles
 Dr. K. Eisele - Sun Mar 16, 2008 8:37 pm

User avatar Dear Freckles: