News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Psychiatry Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Psychiatry Answers List

Forum Name: Psychiatric Topics

Question: i tend to do the oposite

pollsecond - Fri Jan 09, 2009 8:27 am

I am a college student.For the last 3 years i have strugglled with some issues.Everythings seems to go bad.I can not focus when i want to,instead of focusing when haviong to read a book,watch tv,speak with someone i do the oposite.I feel i will do the oposite and this is what worries me,i can n ot stop doing the oposite.Instead of focusing as i used to,when i must focus and i am very stressed i don't focus or atleast i feel i don't focus because i don't know exactly what means not focus and to focus.I always thought that if i focus for example on reading i will be drawn to action and and think only about it, i would not see anything around me.When i feel stressed and try to read i know i will not focus,and when i start reading i realise i am not following the action,i am not at all how i should have been if i was focusing.I just do the oposite.It comes in my mind some voices:"Why should i focus?Why shouldn't i focus?What if can not focus anymore?What if i will not focus?
I wonder why everything should be good and nice.I have this thoughts wich are against me(Why should i feel good?,feel bad) i can not get rid of them,i also feel guilty and i don't know for sure why but i do feel guilty.