News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Psychiatry Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Psychiatry Answers List

Forum Name: Psychiatric Topics

Question: Confidentiality and Psych visits

goex2f - Tue Mar 31, 2009 1:03 pm

I would like to know if it is possible to see a psychiarist and maintain strict confidentiality; I am willing to pay cash and not use my insurance. I work in a hospital in a sensative clinical setting and I have seen firsthand how any history of psychiatric care has a negative impact on one's employment status; especially in these stressful economic times. I know that such discrimination is perhaps illegal, but it exists...Anyway, is there any reason that I can't make an appointment as a John Smith and pay cash, as long as I don't defraud anyone? Thanks.
 simonne westort LPN - Tue Apr 07, 2009 11:10 pm

Your visit should be strictly confidential when talking to a psychologist.
The only reason something would be reported to certain individuals, would be if
you had discussed concerns of harming yourself or others.
The part about it being legal. I think that if you were using a credit card number or someone elses identity illegally, that would encouter a problem.
I hope that you will feel comfortalbe enough to get help with your situation.
Good luck with whatever you decide you need to do.
 goex2f - Wed Apr 08, 2009 6:17 am