News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Psychiatry Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Psychiatry Answers List

Forum Name: Psychiatric Topics

Question: Obsessive Extreme Inner Lip Biting

0218508 - Sat May 09, 2009 12:47 am

I am posing this question here because I assume I have some type of anxiety disorder.
I created a new topic because mine is extremely severe and not like any typical 'lip picking or chewing' ...

A bit of my history that is relevant, I am 22 year old female, 103 pounds, 5'4. I am strict about my eating habits. Probably borderline anorexic. I am strict about being ''perfect'' at school, plucking all body hair/ pubic hair (yes I said plucking) etc...

I don't drink/smoke. I have a University Degree. Just graduated.

My problem: For as long as I can remember - as long as I have had teeth I have gotten the severe urge / tingle in my lips, / anxiety / to bite into them. I am not talking picking or just grabbing the skin of my cheek with my teeth. I mean severely breaking the skin, taking massive chunks out of my cheeks and inner lips. It bleeds uncontrollably usually I swallow the blood and keep going until I feel ''satisfied''. Every time I do this I don't feel pain I feel relief. I have areas where I bite, upper top lips, or bottoms, or side bottoms of my lips. Not usually the cheeks. It is the equivalent of self mutilation. It causes canker sores a day or two later to form where I have bitten my lips. When I do it really badly I cannot talk properly, my lips are swollen, I cannot kiss my bf, -- I cannot even eat properly because the pain afterward is so bad. I know I am biting, I don't do it in my sleep.