News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Psychiatry Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Psychiatry Answers List

Forum Name: Psychiatric Topics

Question: I enjoy abusing animals

DentalStudent - Sun Nov 01, 2009 2:12 am

Hi,

My personal background:

I’m a 22 years old student at Denver. I have a serious condition that is escalating almost everyday. My father is a psychiatrist and holds a private practice, but unfortunately I cannot (in no shape or form) ask him for any help due to multiple reasons; I have always been my dad’s “golden” son; not a single day goes by without my father calling me to tell me how he has been “proud” of me. As a kid, I saw my dad treating patients and learned a lot of this field of medicine, but now for some unexplainable reasons I’m simply terrified to think about becoming his next “patient”. I just feel 100% uncomfortable talking to my father. I have even thought about seeing a different psychiatrist, but I’m afraid he would turn out to be someone that would know my father and might contact him to discuss my condition.

My problem:

In one sentence: I enjoy abusing (to an extreme extent) smaller animals such as cats or dogs. It has become unstoppable and I need serious help to end it.

I own a sweet, beautiful cat that I love, and sadly, from time to time I attempt to hurt/torture her. My “episode” lasts about 15-30 minutes, during the time I am absolutely powerless to stop my action but then suddenly I “wake up”, and stop what I was doing, then start crying and asking myself “why the hell did I just hurt my pet?”… I become emotionally depressed and feel very ashamed and guilty. Sometime I attempt to hurt myself to overcome the guilt and pain that I have caused to an animal.