News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Psychiatry Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Psychiatry Answers List

Forum Name: Antidepressants

Question: Can I take St. John's Wort after taking Prozac?

wendyj6262 - Thu Jul 01, 2010 1:45 pm

Hi, I have taken Prozac for the past 13 years; however, I have not taken any Prozac for the past month. Is it safe to take St. John's Wort this soon after stopping the Prozac?

I realize that St. John's Wort is not a regulated substance; however, I am a teacher with no summer salary, and I must see my doctor to get my prescription renewed. I do not have the money to pay the deductible right now, but I need to be on some type of antidepressant or natural supplement.

Thank you.
 Faye Lang, RN, MSW - Tue Jul 13, 2010 3:40 pm

Hello, wendyj6262,