News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Psychiatry Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Psychiatry Answers List

Forum Name: Psychiatric Topics

Question: extreme fear of being around people in a classroom

Babyduck11 - Tue Jul 13, 2010 1:53 am

I am a current college student at a university. My class sizes range from about 15 to 350 people. When I'm in a classroom with a low number of people, I feel extremely uneasy. I become very nauseated and sometimes lightheaded, and the feeling doesn't go away throughout the entire class period which can last anywhere from 55 minutes to 3 hours. However, if I'm taking notes and keeping busy then I'm fine. Also, if it's a professor that randomly calls you out, then I feel extremely uneasy then as well. On the other hand, in a classroom with a large number of people, I am fine. This has gotten really bad the past year. I started college in 2006 and I have been fine until this past year. It's getting to the point where I will not go to class, so I'm failing a lot of classes because of this very reason.

Also, I have an extreme fear of talking on the phone with anyone (moreso me being the one to call someone). I also will hardly ever go anywhere alone unless I really have to. I get the same sick feeling when starting a new job. It's even as bad as I will not order at the drive-thru; I make whoever is with me order the food. And in restaurants, sometimes this sick/anxious feeling will bother me, especially if the seating is close together or if it's crowded. What is wrong with me?? Do I have anxiety or what? Can this be cured, or is there anything I can do to make this better?
 Faye Lang, RN, MSW - Fri Jul 16, 2010 2:35 pm

Hello, Babyduck11,