News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Psychiatry Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Psychiatry Answers List

Forum Name: Psychiatric Topics

Question: Panic attacks while sleeping...?

somebody's_baby - Sat Feb 07, 2004 1:38 pm

I am an 18-year-old college student. I get a decent amount of sleep every night (between 6 and 8 hours) and I don't feel particularly tired during the day. I have little to no trouble concentrating in class. But recently, I have been having frequent nightmares, and at least three nights out of the last month or so, I have woken up in the middle of a dream or nightmare unable to breathe.

The first time this happened was about a month ago. I had just fallen asleep, and I was dreaming a fairly normal dream. I was plugging something into an outlet in my bedroom at home (this incident occurred over winter break, when I was staying with my parents). In the dream, I suddenly felt paralyzed. My heart started beating faster, and I felt like there was an intense pressure on my lungs so that I couldn't draw air into them. I remember thinking, in the dream, that I had been "electrocuted" and I was very certain that I was dying. I woke up then, and it was about ten to fifteen seconds before I could draw a full breath again.