News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Rheumatology Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Rheumatology Answers List

Forum Name: Rheumatology Topics

Question: Fibromyalgia, back, hip, knee pain

JenTH - Thu Feb 02, 2006 3:04 pm

I am a 37 yr old female
I have been diagnosed with osteoarthritis and fibromyalgia
Currenly I have severe back pain, hip and knee pain.
There is audible crepitus in my knees when I bend them or travel up steps.
if i am sittng for long periods, as i am a student and have much school work, it's terribly painful to get up and move about.
I also suffer from depression and Panic disorder
My current medications are zoloft 200mg QD and
Klonopin 1mg TID

I occasionally take vicodin es when the pain is severe but most of the time i take motrin around the clock. I have been taking between 10 and 12 motrins a day to combat the pain.

My mother has similar problems and is on Ultram. She says that it really helps.

Can you help me find out how to get a prescription legally for vicodin ES or Ultram (preferred)? I currently have no medical insurance and do not have a regular medical doctor. I have gone to the ER or have gone to walk-in-clinics for the past 4 years without insurance when things get out of control. I graduate in May and will be an RN. At that time i will be eligible for insurance and can make regular doctor visits.
What do you suggest? I just need something to control my pain until i graduate and obtain insurance.. I feel like i'm trapped in a 90 year old body. Thanks for anything that you suggest. Looking forward to an answer, Jen
 Dr. P. M. Aries - Sat Feb 04, 2006 7:05 am