News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Rheumatology Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Rheumatology Answers List

Forum Name: Rheumatology Topics

Question: Joint laxity- Whom should I see for associated pain

philking - Wed Jul 28, 2010 5:03 pm

I suffer from joint hyper mobility and have my whole life. I’ve just only recently, however, been diagnosed with it. I’m a male student (early 20s) that lives a predominately sedentary lifestyle (though am in relatively good shape because I do plenty of non-taxing exercising). Though the hyper mobility was more fun (look what I can do!) than it presented a problem when I was younger, within the last few years, I’ve recently started to experience joint popping and pain in various places. Most notably, my right femur pops every time I take a single step ascending stairs, and often when I’m just walking across flat surfaces (even carpeted ones). Although I haven’t experienced pain concurrently with the popping, I’ve been experiencing pains in bed at night right where my femur pops. I’ve just recently had an X-ray, moreover, which came back “unremarkable“. I’m quite certain, therefore, that it has everything to do with my joint hyper mobility.