News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Surgery Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Surgery Answers List

Forum Name: Surgery Topics

Question: MY USN SHOWS A 2.7-CM GALLSTONE

BarBDoll - Mon Aug 23, 2010 1:47 pm

Hello,
I’m a 59-year-old Caucasian female in overall good general health, BMI of 23.5, status post TAH/BSO 18 years ago. After recently having some RUQ discomfort I was diagnosed by USN to have a solitary 2.7-cm gallstone. Am having surgical consult next week. I have been doing medical transcription for many years, including many op notes for cholcystectomies, and do not ever recall hearing of any gallstone that large! Not sure why I ended up with one big one instead of many tiny ones like most people, but I am somewhat concerned about how its size might affect treatment. Can I still have a lap chole, or will it have to be open because of the size, or might there be another alternative such as lithotripsy? Thank you in advance for your input.
 Dr.M.Aroon kamath - Sun Sep 05, 2010 3:14 am

User avatar Hi,
Gall stones come in several sizes. They can be
- solitary or
- multiple.

The multiple stones can be
- of uniform size (belong to the same generation), or
- may be of different sizes(belonging to different generations).

The multiple, small stones tend to pass down the biliary tract causing complications such as
- biliary colic,
- common bile duct obstruction,
- acute pancreatitis and
- cholangitis.

The larger gall bladder stones also can cause several problems including,
- acute or chronic calculus cholecystitis,
- they may get into the part of the gall bladder called as the neck of the gall bladder and cause obstruction leading to an empyema of the gall bladder,