Doctors Lounge - Pharmacy Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Pharmacy Answers List

Forum Name: Pharmacy & Drug Topics

Question: Dianette and breast sculptor

baby_blu8359 - Sun Jan 09, 2005 5:29 pm

im currently taking dianette for birth control and also spots. Im 16 years old and i have recently purchased breast sculpture, to increase my breast size. Please could you tell me if these tablets will affect the effectiveness of my dianette and how it works as a birth control pill. It sayson the packet that these tablets are all herbal but i would lik,e to make sure just in case. thanks you
 dlugose - Tue Feb 22, 2005 8:05 pm

Your question is not completely clear. I'm not an expert on this but I see lots of reason to make sure you are getting the Dianette from a doctor that has considered the pros and cons of using Dianette and will follow up with you. This medication is not used for birth control except in some cases in Canada or Europe where acne also needs to be treated. Even then it is controversial because of serious possible side effects such as venous thromboembolism.
See for example http://www.whp-apsf.ca/en/documents/diane35.html
or http://www.cwhn.ca/hot/news/diane35.html, where the Society of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists of Canada cautions against its use even in moderate acne.

Are you taking two medications? What herbal medication?

baby_blu8359 wrote:im currently taking dianette for birth control and also spots. Im 16 years old and i have recently purchased breast sculpture, to increase my breast size. Please could you tell me if these tablets will affect the effectiveness of my dianette and how it works as a birth control pill. It sayson the packet that these tablets are all herbal but i would lik,e to make sure just in case. thanks you

baby_blu8359 - Wed Feb 23, 2005 2:15 am