Doctors Lounge - Pharmacy Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Pharmacy Answers List

Forum Name: Pharmacy & Drug Topics

Question: illegal drugs

curiousmind - Sat Oct 18, 2003 1:33 am

I am no expert on the matter, but would like info from those who might be. My question relates to the period of time after use that certain illegal drugs can be traced in someones system. Blood, urine or hair samples. Primarily concerned with ecstacy. Have heard only a few days, but would like some definitive answers.

Thanks
 Dr. Tamer Fouad - Mon Oct 20, 2003 7:25 pm

User avatar Ecstasy (party pill) is known as 3,4-METHYLENE-DIOXYMETAMPHETAMINE (“MDMA”). It can be traced in urine and blood. It is commonly sampled in urine and has a half life of 6-8hrs.
That would mean that there will be less than 1% remaining in your body at 72 hours.

However, this is only one step of the calculation as far as how long MDMA is detectable in urine. MDMA is metabolized into a variety of other molecules including HMMA, MDA, and HMA. Respectively these have half-lives of approximately 11, 25, and 37 hours. MDA triggers the standard Amphetamine urine test, while MDMA itself will trigger a Methamphetamine urine test. We don't have any information about whether HMMA or HMA metabolites will trigger the amphetamine/methamphetamine test in a urinalysis and whether the quantities present from MDMA metabolism are sufficient for such a trigger.

There are also many factors which go into determining how long a substances is detectable in urine. The specific metabolism of the person being tested, the amount and frequency used, the method of administration, fluid intake, amount of exercise, etc.